Review of Food Labelling Law and Policy

Communique M2 17 December 2009

Printable version of Communique M2 (PDF 12 KB)

The Food Labelling Law and Policy Review Committee (the Committee) held its second meeting on Thursday 17 December 2009. The members of the Committee are former Australian Health Minister, Dr Neal Blewett AC, public health law academic Dr Chris Reynolds, economic and consumer behaviour expert Dr Simone Pettigrew, food and nutrition policy academic Associate Professor Heather Yeatman, and food industry communications, marketing and corporate affairs professional Nick Goddard.

The Committee is committed to ensuring that the review considers all relevant issues raised in nearly 6000 submissions that have been received.

The Committee is using the submissions to inform an issues paper, which will be released in early March 2010. This paper will form the basis of the public consultation which is being scheduled for all capital cities in Australia and New Zealand from March to early May.

Written submissions will also be invited at that time. A schedule for consultation meetings is currently being developed and registration for the consultation meetings will open in mid February.

Further details about the process will be published on the website once they become available.

Page last updated: 27 January, 2010